Prices verified October 2026

Compounded Tirzepatide Price vs Brand-Name: What You Actually Pay

Compounded tirzepatide price compared to brand-name Mounjaro and Zepbound. Side-by-side costs, regulatory status, quality trade-offs and 12-month projections.

Compounded tirzepatide costs between $129 and $399.99 per month depending on the provider and dose. Brand-name Mounjaro and Zepbound list at $1,112 and $1,086 per month respectively. The price gap is real, but so are the trade-offs. This page puts compounded and brand-name pricing side by side at every dose level, explains where the savings come from, identifies what you give up, and projects total cost over a full year of treatment.

Compounded vs Brand-Name: Price Side by Side

The table below compares monthly costs for compounded tirzepatide from BiltRx and Arc-1 against Zepbound self-pay vials and Mounjaro self-pay through LillyDirect. All prices verified October 2026.

Compounded vs Brand-Name Tirzepatide: Monthly Cost by Dose
DoseBiltRx CompoundedArc-1 CompoundedZepbound Self-Pay (45-day)Mounjaro Self-PayRetail Cash (Zepbound)
2.5 mg$129$199.99$299$499$1,000 - $1,135
5 mg$129$249.99$399$499$1,000 - $1,135
7.5 mg$129$399.99$449$499$1,000 - $1,135
10 mg$129N/A$449$499$1,000 - $1,135
15 mg$129N/A$449$499$1,000 - $1,135

Sources: BiltRx pricing from biltrx.com (verified 22 Oct 2026). Arc-1 pricing from arc-1.co (verified 22 Oct 2026). Zepbound and Mounjaro self-pay from LillyDirect (October 2026). Retail cash estimates from pharmacy surveys, October 2026. BiltRx total excludes consultation and shipping fees, which are not disclosed on the public pricing page. Arc-1 includes free consultation and free expedited shipping in its listed price.

What Is Compounded Tirzepatide?

Compounded tirzepatide uses the same active pharmaceutical ingredient found in Mounjaro and Zepbound. A licensed compounding pharmacy prepares it under a physician's prescription in custom formulations, typically as injectable vials rather than pre-filled pens. It is not manufactured by Eli Lilly and is not FDA-approved as a finished product.

503A Compounding Pharmacies Explained

Section 503A of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act allows state-licensed pharmacies to compound medications for individual patients based on a valid prescription. These pharmacies source bulk active pharmaceutical ingredient, mix it to the prescribed strength and ship it directly. They operate under state pharmacy board oversight and must follow current good compounding practices. BiltRx fills through US-licensed 503A pharmacies. Arc-1 is LegitScript-certified and formulates its compounded tirzepatide with glycine and vitamin B12 as additional ingredients.

What the FDA Says About Compounded GLP-1s

The FDA has stated that compounded drugs are not FDA-approved and do not undergo the agency's review for safety, efficacy or manufacturing quality. During periods of drug shortage, the FDA has exercised enforcement discretion regarding compounding of certain medications including tirzepatide. The agency has also issued warnings about unapproved and potentially unsafe compounded tirzepatide products from unlicensed sources. The legal standing of compounded tirzepatide depends on shortage status, state regulations and whether the pharmacy complies with 503A requirements.

Where the Savings Come From

The difference between $129 per month and $1,086 per month for the same active molecule is not random. Two structural factors account for most of the gap.

No Marketing or Distribution Markup

Eli Lilly's brand-name price reflects billions in clinical trial costs, FDA approval expenses, direct-to-consumer advertising, sales force operations and a multi-tier wholesale distribution chain. Compounding pharmacies skip all of that. They do not run clinical trials for FDA approval. They do not advertise on television. They do not maintain a national sales force. They source the active ingredient, compound it to prescription, and ship it. The overhead structure is fundamentally smaller.

Bulk Active Ingredient Sourcing

503A pharmacies purchase tirzepatide active pharmaceutical ingredient from FDA-registered bulk suppliers. These suppliers produce the peptide at scale without the packaging, device engineering and branded distribution costs that Lilly builds into the KwikPen or single-dose vial price. The raw ingredient cost per dose is a fraction of the finished brand-name product. That difference flows directly to the patient price. Our generic tirzepatide outlook explains how this compares to what a future biosimilar might cost.

What You Give Up with Compounded

Lower price carries trade-offs. Three specific differences separate compounded tirzepatide from the brand-name product.

No FDA Approval for the Finished Product

This is the most significant distinction. Mounjaro and Zepbound passed Phase 3 clinical trials involving thousands of patients, underwent full FDA review and carry approved labeling with documented efficacy and safety data. Compounded tirzepatide has no equivalent regulatory record. The active ingredient is the same molecule, but the finished injectable has not been evaluated by the FDA for potency consistency, sterility or bioequivalence. Quality depends entirely on the individual pharmacy's processes, equipment and testing protocols.

Variable Formulations and Additives

Brand-name tirzepatide has a single, standardized formulation across every pen and vial Lilly produces. Compounded versions vary between pharmacies. Arc-1, for example, includes glycine and vitamin B12 in its formulation (arc-1.co, verified 22 Oct 2026). Other compounding pharmacies may use different excipients, concentrations or preservatives. These variations are legal under 503A rules, but they mean the product you receive from one pharmacy is not identical to the product from another. If you switch compounded providers, your prescriber should review the new formulation.

State Availability Restrictions

Not every compounded provider ships to every state. Arc-1 does not serve patients in California, Arkansas, Indiana, Minnesota or South Carolina (arc-1.co, verified 22 Oct 2026). State pharmacy board rules, telehealth prescribing laws and compounding regulations create a patchwork of availability. Brand-name Mounjaro and Zepbound are available at retail pharmacies and through LillyDirect in all 50 states. If you live in a restricted state, compounded options may be limited or unavailable. Check your state's eligibility before starting a consultation.

Brand-Name Options at Lower Prices

Patients who want FDA-approved tirzepatide but cannot afford the full retail price have two manufacturer-direct options that undercut the $1,086 WAC by a wide margin.

Zepbound Self-Pay Vials ($299 - $449)

Eli Lilly sells single-dose Zepbound vials through LillyDirect at $299 for 2.5 mg, $399 for 5 mg and $449 for 7.5 through 15 mg with the 45-day refill window (October 2026). Without the refill window, 7.5 mg costs $499 and 10 through 15 mg costs $699. These are the same FDA-approved tirzepatide made by Lilly, packaged in vials rather than KwikPens. At 5 mg maintenance, the self-pay vial is $399 per month. That is $150 more than Arc-1 at the same dose and $270 more than BiltRx, but it comes with FDA approval and Lilly's manufacturing standards. See our Zepbound cost without insurance page for the full pharmacy comparison.

Mounjaro Self-Pay ($499)

Mounjaro self-pay through LillyDirect is a flat $499 per month at every dose level (LillyDirect, October 2026). No dose tiers, no refill window penalties. For patients who expect to reach 10 or 15 mg maintenance, this flat rate can be cheaper than Zepbound self-pay without the 45-day window ($699 at 10-15 mg). It is the simplest brand-name pricing structure available.

Which Option Saves the Most Over 12 Months?

A single month's price does not capture the full financial picture. Tirzepatide is a long-term treatment. Most patients start at 2.5 mg, escalate to a maintenance dose over two to four months, and stay there indefinitely. The table below projects 12-month costs assuming two months at 2.5 mg, two months at 5 mg, and eight months at 5 mg maintenance. This is a conservative scenario. Patients who escalate to 7.5 mg or higher will see larger differences between providers.

12-Month Cost Projection at 5 mg Maintenance Dose
ProviderMonths 1-2 (2.5 mg)Months 3-4 (5 mg)Months 5-12 (5 mg)12-Month Total
BiltRx compounded$129 x 2 = $258$129 x 2 = $258$129 x 8 = $1,032$1,548 + fees*
Arc-1 compounded$199.99 x 2 = $400$249.99 x 2 = $500$249.99 x 8 = $2,000$2,900
Zepbound self-pay (45-day)$299 x 2 = $598$399 x 2 = $798$399 x 8 = $3,192$4,588
Mounjaro self-pay$499 x 2 = $998$499 x 2 = $998$499 x 8 = $3,992$5,988
Retail cash (Zepbound avg)$1,060 x 2 = $2,120$1,060 x 2 = $2,120$1,060 x 8 = $8,480$12,720

*BiltRx total excludes consultation and shipping fees, which are charged separately and not disclosed on the public pricing page. Even with those additional costs, BiltRx is likely the cheapest 12-month option for patients in states where both providers are available. Arc-1's all-inclusive pricing makes it easier to project accurately. For patients who want FDA-approved product, Zepbound self-pay with the 45-day refill saves $1,400 over Mounjaro self-pay in this scenario.

Estimated 12-Month Spend at 5 mg Maintenance
BiltRx compounded1,548 $
Arc-1 compounded2,900 $
Zepbound self-pay (45-day)4,588 $
Mounjaro self-pay5,988 $
Retail cash (Zepbound)12,720 $
Source: biltrx.com, arc-1.co, LillyDirect, retail estimates. Oct 2026. BiltRx excludes consult/shipping fees.

The annual difference between BiltRx and retail cash exceeds $11,000. Even the gap between Arc-1 and Zepbound self-pay adds up to $1,688 per year. Over two or three years of treatment, these differences become significant enough to affect whether a patient can sustain treatment at all. Our monthly cost breakdown covers how dose escalation beyond 5 mg changes these projections.

FAQ - Compounded Tirzepatide Price

Is compounded tirzepatide the same drug as Mounjaro?

It uses the same active pharmaceutical ingredient, tirzepatide, but the finished product is different. Mounjaro is manufactured by Eli Lilly in FDA-inspected facilities with standardized formulations and approved labeling. Compounded tirzepatide is prepared by a 503A pharmacy from bulk active ingredient. The molecule is identical. The manufacturing process, quality oversight and regulatory status are not. Some compounders add additional ingredients: Arc-1 includes glycine and vitamin B12, for example. Our tirzepatide cost overview compares all available sources.

Why is compounded tirzepatide so much cheaper?

Compounding pharmacies avoid the costs that drive brand-name pricing: clinical trials, FDA approval, direct-to-consumer advertising, branded device engineering and multi-tier wholesale distribution. They source bulk active ingredient from FDA-registered suppliers and compound it to individual prescriptions. The result is a medication that costs $129 to $399.99 per month instead of $1,086 or more. The trade-off is the absence of FDA approval on the finished product and variability between compounding pharmacies.

Can I get compounded tirzepatide in California?

Arc-1 does not ship to California, Arkansas, Indiana, Minnesota or South Carolina (arc-1.co, verified 22 Oct 2026). BiltRx's state availability should be confirmed directly on their site. Patients in restricted states still have access to Zepbound self-pay vials ($299 to $449) and Mounjaro self-pay ($499) through LillyDirect, which serves all 50 states. See our cheapest tirzepatide page for options ranked by state availability.

Should I choose compounded or brand-name tirzepatide?

That depends on your budget, risk tolerance and insurance situation. If your commercial insurance covers the drug and you qualify for the Lilly savings card, brand-name tirzepatide can cost as little as $25 per month. If you are uninsured and budget is the primary constraint, compounded tirzepatide from a licensed 503A pharmacy is the most affordable legal option. If you want FDA-approved product but cannot pay retail, Zepbound self-pay vials through LillyDirect offer a middle ground at $299 to $449 per month. No option is right for everyone. Discuss the trade-offs with your prescriber before deciding.

Compare the current picks

Prices, sizes and ratings side by side, updated when the merchant pages change.

See lowest prices