Prices verified October 2026

Tirzepatide Cost Per Month: The Hidden Fees Nobody Mentions

The real tirzepatide cost per month after consultation fees, shipping, lab work and dose escalation. Provider-by-provider breakdown with every charge sourced.

The monthly price of tirzepatide is the number most people search for. But the sticker price on a pharmacy receipt or provider website is rarely what you actually spend. Consultation fees, shipping charges, lab work and dose escalation can add $50 to $300 on top of the advertised rate. This page breaks down the real total monthly cost across every major provider so you can budget accurately before starting treatment.

The Sticker Price Is Not the Full Monthly Cost

Advertised tirzepatide prices almost always refer to medication alone. Four additional cost categories affect what you pay each month, and some providers bundle them while others list them separately.

Medication Alone

BiltRx lists compounded tirzepatide at $129 per month regardless of dose (biltrx.com, verified 22 Oct 2026). Arc-1 prices by dose: $199.99 at 2.5 mg, $249.99 at 5 mg and $399.99 at 7.5 mg (arc-1.co, verified 22 Oct 2026). Zepbound self-pay vials through LillyDirect run $299 to $449 with the 45-day refill window (LillyDirect, October 2026). Mounjaro self-pay is a flat $499 per month at any dose (LillyDirect, October 2026). Those are just the medication figures.

Consultation Fees

Every tirzepatide prescription requires a licensed provider. BiltRx charges a consultation fee on top of the $129 base price, though the exact amount is not disclosed on the public pricing page. Arc-1 includes a free consultation in every order. LillyDirect routes patients through a partnered telehealth provider whose fees are bundled into the self-pay price. Retail pharmacy patients need their own prescriber, typically costing $50 to $250 for an initial visit depending on the practice.

Shipping and Handling

Tirzepatide is a peptide that requires cold-chain shipping. BiltRx charges a separate shipping fee that is not disclosed on the public pricing page. Arc-1 includes free expedited shipping on every order. LillyDirect bundles shipping into its pricing or offers Walmart pickup at no additional cost. Retail pharmacies have no shipping cost since you pick up in person.

Lab Work and Blood Tests

Some telehealth providers require baseline labs before prescribing. Common panels include HbA1c, a metabolic panel and thyroid function. Lab costs range from $50 to $200 depending on the provider and whether you use insurance. Not every compounded provider requires labs upfront, but most recommend them at least once before starting treatment and periodically during dose escalation.

$50 - $250typical initial consultation fee range
$0 - $30shipping per order (varies by provider)
$50 - $200baseline lab panel cost range
4 weeksminimum interval between dose increases

Total Monthly Cost by Provider

The table below adds medication, consultation and shipping into a single estimated monthly figure. For BiltRx, exact consultation and shipping charges are not published, so we note that the total exceeds $129. Arc-1 publishes an all-inclusive price. LillyDirect bundles everything into the self-pay rate. Retail pharmacy totals assume a separate prescriber visit amortized monthly.

Estimated Total Monthly Cost by Provider (October 2026)
ProviderMedicationConsultationShippingEstimated Total
BiltRx compounded (any dose)$129Not disclosedNot disclosed$129 + fees
Arc-1 compounded (2.5 mg)$199.99FreeFree$199.99
Arc-1 compounded (5 mg)$249.99FreeFree$249.99
Arc-1 compounded (7.5 mg)$399.99FreeFree$399.99
Zepbound self-pay (2.5 mg, 45-day)$299BundledBundled$299
Zepbound self-pay (5 mg, 45-day)$399BundledBundled$399
Zepbound self-pay (7.5-15 mg, 45-day)$449BundledBundled$449
Mounjaro self-pay (all doses)$499BundledBundled$499
Retail pharmacy (Zepbound cash)$1,000 - $1,135$50 - $250 (own doctor)None (pickup)$1,050 - $1,385

How Dose Escalation Changes Your Bill

Tirzepatide treatment follows a standard escalation schedule: 2.5 mg for at least four weeks, then 5 mg, then 7.5 mg, 10 mg, 12.5 mg and finally 15 mg. Each step lasts a minimum of four weeks, and many patients stay at a moderate maintenance dose rather than climbing to the top. The dose you settle on determines your long-term monthly cost with dose-tiered providers.

Starting Dose (2.5 mg) vs Maintenance (10-15 mg)

With BiltRx, escalation has no price impact because every dose costs $129 per month. A patient on 2.5 mg pays the same as a patient on 15 mg. That flat rate makes BiltRx's total annual cost predictable from the start.

Arc-1 jumps from $199.99 at 2.5 mg to $399.99 at 7.5 mg. That is a $200 monthly increase within three dose steps. Arc-1 does not currently list prices above 7.5 mg on its public site.

Zepbound self-pay vials through LillyDirect start at $299 (2.5 mg) and cap at $449 for any dose from 7.5 mg through 15 mg when you maintain the 45-day refill window. Without that window, 10 to 15 mg costs $699 per month. Missing a single refill deadline at the higher doses adds $250 to that month's bill.

Monthly Cost at Each Dose Tier
BiltRx 2.5 mg129 $
BiltRx 5 mg129 $
BiltRx 7.5 mg129 $
Arc-1 2.5 mg199.99 $
Arc-1 5 mg249.99 $
Arc-1 7.5 mg399.99 $
Zepbound 2.5 mg (45-day)299 $
Zepbound 5 mg (45-day)399 $
Zepbound 7.5-15 mg (45-day)449 $
Zepbound 10-15 mg (no 45-day)699 $
Source: biltrx.com, arc-1.co, LillyDirect. Verified Oct 2026. BiltRx total excludes undisclosed consultation/shipping fees.

Subscription Models vs Pay-As-You-Go

How you pay matters almost as much as what you pay. The three main provider categories each use a different billing model, and the structure affects flexibility, refill timing and cancellation risk.

Compounded Providers

BiltRx and Arc-1 both operate on a recurring subscription model. You sign up, complete a consultation, and receive monthly shipments. BiltRx holds the medication price steady at $129 regardless of dose changes. Arc-1 adjusts the charge when your prescriber increases your dose. Both ship injectable tirzepatide only. Neither offers tablets. Cancellation policies vary, so check the provider's terms before subscribing. For a detailed look at what each compounded provider includes, see our tirzepatide cost breakdown.

LillyDirect

LillyDirect operates more like a managed pay-as-you-go system. You order each fill individually through the portal, and there is no auto-renewing subscription. The 45-day refill window acts as a soft subscription: refill within 45 days and you keep the lower price tier. Let it lapse and the price jumps for that fill. This model gives you more control over timing but punishes gaps in refills at the 7.5 mg tier and above.

Retail Pharmacy

Retail pharmacies fill each prescription individually. There is no subscription, no refill deadline penalty and no price lock. The downside is that retail cash prices are the highest of any option, running $1,000 to $1,135 per month for Zepbound (Eli Lilly investor relations, October 2026). You gain the convenience of local pickup and the ability to use insurance or GoodRx coupons, but you lose the pricing advantages of direct-to-patient channels.

Ways to Reduce the Total Monthly Spend

Regardless of which provider you choose, several strategies can shave dollars off your actual monthly outlay.

Stack Savings Card with Insurance

If your commercial insurance covers Zepbound or Mounjaro, the Eli Lilly savings card brings your copay to as low as $25 per month (zepbound.lilly.com, October 2026). Annual limits apply, and government plans are excluded. Medicare enrollees can use the GLP-1 Bridge at $50 per month instead. This is the single cheapest route to brand-name tirzepatide. Our Zepbound cost without insurance page covers eligibility in detail.

Choose Vials Over KwikPens

LillyDirect's self-pay pricing applies to both vials and KwikPens at the same tier. However, future manufacturer price adjustments have historically favored the vial format because it costs less to produce. Choosing vials also avoids device-related supply disruptions that have affected KwikPen availability in the past. If you are comfortable drawing from a vial with a syringe, this format keeps your options open.

Multi-Month Fills

Some prescribers will write a 90-day supply, which can lower per-unit cost at retail pharmacies by 5% to 10%. LillyDirect does not currently offer 90-day fills, but its 45-day refill window effectively extends a 30-day supply across a longer cycle. Ask your provider whether a multi-month fill makes sense for your situation. For a broader comparison of every savings route, see our cheapest tirzepatide ranking.

Monthly Cost Quick Reference
BiltRx compounded (any dose)
$129/mo + consultation + shipping
Arc-1 compounded (2.5 mg)
$199.99/mo all-in
Arc-1 compounded (5 mg)
$249.99/mo all-in
Zepbound self-pay (2.5 mg)
$299/mo
Mounjaro self-pay (all doses)
$499/mo
Savings card + commercial insurance
As low as $25/mo
Medicare GLP-1 Bridge
$50/mo

FAQ - Tirzepatide Cost Per Month

What is the cheapest way to get tirzepatide per month?

With commercial insurance that covers the drug, the Lilly savings card brings the copay to as low as $25 per month (zepbound.lilly.com, October 2026). Without insurance, BiltRx compounded tirzepatide at $129 per month is the lowest advertised medication price, though consultation and shipping fees add to that base (biltrx.com, verified 22 Oct 2026). Arc-1 starts at $199.99 per month with everything included (arc-1.co, verified 22 Oct 2026). For the FDA-approved product without insurance, Zepbound self-pay vials start at $299 through LillyDirect.

Does the monthly cost change when my dose increases?

It depends on the provider. BiltRx charges a flat $129 at every dose. Arc-1 increases the price from $199.99 at 2.5 mg to $399.99 at 7.5 mg. Zepbound self-pay moves from $299 at 2.5 mg to $449 at 7.5 mg and above with the 45-day refill. Mounjaro self-pay stays flat at $499 regardless of dose. See our tirzepatide cost overview for the full dose-by-dose comparison.

Are there hidden fees beyond the monthly medication price?

Yes. BiltRx charges consultation and shipping fees on top of the $129 medication price, though the amounts are not disclosed on the public pricing page. Arc-1 bundles consultation and expedited shipping into its listed price. LillyDirect includes telehealth and shipping in the self-pay rate. Retail pharmacy patients pay for their own prescriber visits ($50 to $250) and may need baseline lab work ($50 to $200). Always ask for the total cost before committing to a provider.

Is compounded tirzepatide the same monthly commitment as brand-name?

Both routes require ongoing monthly fills for as long as you continue treatment. Compounded providers typically ship on a monthly subscription cycle. LillyDirect operates on a per-order basis with the 45-day refill window for preferred pricing. The treatment duration is the same regardless of source because tirzepatide works the same way. Stopping the medication typically reverses the weight loss. Our compounded tirzepatide price page covers the long-term cost implications of each option.

Compare the current picks

Prices, sizes and ratings side by side, updated when the merchant pages change.

See lowest prices